6.2 Regional policy frameworks

ICT infrastructure tends to be regional, due to boundaries in wireless and fiber optic technologies, which is why ICT policy frameworks often reflect the same regional borders.

Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Secretariat

The CARICOM ICT strategy is an instrument for strengthened connectivity and development to foster greater prosperity and social transformation between and among member states, as well as the rest of the world. In CARICOM, there is a continuing focus on mainstreaming ICT activities and development to effectively contribute to the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals, particularly those related to poverty reduction, education, and health, environment and gender equity.


Association of South East Asian Nations

The Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) is governed by the 2000 e-ASEAN Framework and by the annual meeting of the telecommunications ministers, known as TELMIN. ASEAN has made a number of declarations and plans of action with respect to ICTs. Related to telecenters for women is the Siem Reap Declaration on Enhancing Universal Access of ICT Services in ASEAN (2007), which commits to enhancing access to ICT services so that the rural communities and remote areas in the ASEAN region will have equal access and connectivity at affordable rates.


New Partnership for African Development

The New Partnership for African Development (NEPAD) e-Africa Commission is the ICT arm of NEPAD. It works for long-term solutions for the development of the ICT sector in Africa. The NEPAD e-Africa Commission creates partnerships and collaborates with governments, companies and local people to realize positive change in the ICT sector. http://www.eafricacommission.org/

African Union

The African Regional Action Plan on the Knowledge Economy seeks to build a region fully benefiting from ICT services by the year 2015. It commits the African Union and countries of the region to adopt gender-sensitive approaches to enable women to better access ICTs.



Organization of American States and the Santo Domingo Declaration

The Santo Domingo Declaration is a commitment from the 34 foreign affairs ministries of the Organization of American States to take all measures needed to develop ICT in their countries. The declaration recognises the importance of the gender perspective and the need to enhance women's equitable access to the benefits of ICTs. It also aims to ensure that ICTs become a central tool for the empowerment of women and promotion of gender equality. Policies, programs, and projects need to address gender inequalities in access to and the use of ICTs.