理念

于2015年让信息通信技术(ICT)连通所有小学、中学和大学,是世界各国首脑在信息社会世界高峰会议(WSIS)确定的目标之一。连通学校,连 通社区是国际电联发起一项公共 – 私营部门的合作举措,以促进世界各发展中国家学校的宽带互联网连接。为什么将学校列为重点呢?因为实现连通的学校可以成为社区ICT中心,向包括妇女和女 童在内的贫困和弱势群体提供服务。它们也可以成为向原住民和残疾人提供支持的核心。因此,实现连通的学校不仅服务于前来就学的青少年,也服务于它们所在的 更广泛的社区。

我们的目标是让就读于实现连通的学校的青少年更便于接触到最新的信息通信技术(ICT)。这些中心将提供基于ICT 的基本生活技能培训(语言读写能力、计算能力和对ICT基础知识的掌握),以及培养商业和ICT专业技能的培训。

这个网上平台旨在 增进政府决策者、捐助者和合作伙伴之间对有助于学校连通和社会公益的协调政策、规章和做法的了解与认识。

通过连通学校,连通社区举 措,国际电联及其合作伙伴创建了:

  1. 最佳做法和政策咨询工具包,提出并编纂了政策制定和监管机构用于学校和宽带互联网连接 的最佳做法;
  2. 培训资料应用和工具库,供实现连通的学校及其社区ICT中心使用。

我们将不会就此止步;以后的 步骤包括:

  1. 进一步完善和扩展网上内容;
  2. 提高世界各国政策制定和监管机构对于制定将连通的学校用作社 区ICT中心的国家政策和战略的政治觉悟;
  3. 帮助国际电联成员国制定国家学校ICT连通计划并落实有针对性的援助项目;而且
  4. 通 过将连通的学校用作社区中心开展能力建设。

本网站将发布有关上述活动和行动的信息。

在2009年10月举行的国际电联电信展世界青年论坛期间,国际电联秘书长哈玛德•图埃博士和电信发展局主任萨米•阿勒巴舍里与联合国秘书长潘基文、卢旺达总统保罗•卡加梅和来自全球150个国家的近300名青年一道,启动了连通学校,连通社区举措。

主要挑战

通过提高连通性使学校成为社区宽带ICT中心,涉及一系列需要全面解决的关键问题,其中包括对技术的了解和部署;相关的政策和监管;成本分析;使用低成本计算装置等最终用户设备;以及对教师的ICT基础培训。它还包括与当地社区成员联手;为儿童提供一个安全的在线和现实环境;为残疾人提供辅助技术和无障碍环境;以及开发和使用教育内容。

虽然一些参与方已就一个或多个这类相互关联的问题提出了最佳做法,例如开展教师培训和连通学校的成本研究,但尚无系统汇集所有最佳做法和针对相互关联的多层次学校连通性生态系统的全面“一条龙解决方案”。此外,一些早期的学校连通举措旨在普及拨号或低速互联网接入,而非宽带互联网接入,而且许多国家尚未制定任何学校连通方案。

鉴于以上种种原因,目前正是开发全面在线工具包的时机,将它用于确定与各层次学校连通性生态系统相关的最佳做法,向致力于将连通的学校用作社区ICT中心的政府教育和ICT领导人和国际/区域组织、发展机构、非政府组织和私营部门通报情况。

The Concept

Connecting all primary, secondary and post-secondary schools to ICTs by 2015 was one of the targets set by world leaders at the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS). Connect a School, Connect a Community is a public-private partnership launched by ITU to promote broadband Internet connectivity for schools in developing countries around the world.  Why focus on schools?  Because connected schools can serve as community ICT centres for disadvantaged and vulnerable groups, including women and girls. They can also serve as hubs to support indigenous peoples and persons with disabilities.  So connected schools will serve not only the youth and children who attend them but also the broader communities in which they are located.

The objective is that children and youth attending these connected schools will have improved access to the latest information and communication technologies (ICTs).  These centres will leverage ICTs to improve the economic and social development of their communities by providing ICT-based training on basic life skills (language literacy, numeracy and basic ICT literacy) along with training that develops business and ICT-specialized skills. 

The goal of this online platform is to promote understanding and awareness among government decision makers, donors and partners on the need for coordinated policies, regulations and practices that promote school connectivity and community benefits. 

Through the Connect a School, Connect a Community initiative, ITU and its partners have created:

1.The Toolkit of Best Practices and Policy Advice that identifies and compiles best practices that can be used by policy makers and regulators to connect schools to broadband Internet networks;

2.A repository of Training Materials Applications and Tools that can be used by connected schools and their community ICT centres.

We won’t be stopping there; next steps include:

1.Further development and expansion of related online content; 

2.Raising global political awareness among education and communication policy makers and regulators in the development of national policies and strategies to connect schools as community ICT centres; 

3.Assisting ITU Member States in developing national school ICT connectivity plans and implementing targeted assistance projects; and, 

4.Providing capacity building through regional training on using connected schools as community centres.

Information about the events and activities above will be posted on this website.

 ITU Secretary-General, Dr Hamadoun Touré and Director of the Telecommunication Development Bureau, Mr Sami Al Basheer launch the Connect a School – Connect a Community initiative with the UN Secretary-General, Ban Ki-moon and President Paul Kagame of Rwanda and almost 300 youth from some 150 countries from around the world during ITU TELECOM World Youth  Forum in October 2009.

Key Challenges

Promoting connectivity to enable schools to serve as community broadband ICT centres involves a series of critical issues which must be addressed holistically. These include understanding and implementing technology; related policy and regulation; cost analysis; access to end-user equipment such as low cost computing devices; and basic ICT training for teachers.  It also includes engaging with members of the local community; providing a safe online and physical environment for children; providing assistive technologies and an accessible environment for persons with disabilities; and developing and accessing content for education.

While some players have developed best practices related to one or more of these inter-related issues, for example, teacher training and cost studies for connecting schools, there is no comprehensive, “one stop shop” bringing together all best practices systematically and addressing all of the inter-related layers of the school connectivity ecosystem. Moreover, some earlier school connectivity initiatives were designed to promote dial-up or low-speed Internet access rather than broadband Internet access and many countries have yet to develop any school connectivity programmes at all.

For all of these reasons, it is timely to develop a comprehensive online Toolkit identifying best practices related to all layers of the school connectivity ecosystem that will serve to inform education and ICT government leaders as well as international/regional organizations, development agencies, NGOs and the private sector seeking to connect schools as community ICT centres.